Tags

, ,

I love to shop farmers markets! They are such a fun source of inspiration and new ingredients. I also really like giving my money directly to hard-working, passionate farmers. Since my daughter was born, I have been bringing her with me. I want to make sure she understands where her food comes from. I also think that when kids have a say in selecting food that they will be open minded so I pretty much give her free reign with purchases.  These little shishito peppers were one of my daughter’s purchases. I had never seen them before so I sure didn’t know what to do with them once I got home. They are mild, thinned walled peppers. I found a couple recipes online that either sautéed or roasted them with salt or soy sauce so I decided to try a really simple recipe. My whole family loved these peppers sautéed like this. We just ate them whole (except the skin, of course). I can’t wait to pick some more up at the farmers market.


Ingredients

  • 1/2 lb shishito peppers, washed and thoroughly dried
  • 1 T olive oil
  • salt, to taste

Instructions

  1. Toss the peppers in the olive oil and set aside.
  2. Heat a skillet over medium-high heat.
  3.  Once it is warm, add the peppers and cook them. As they cook, turn occasionally so they cook evenly. They are done once they start to char and blister.