Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

My refrigerator is seriously bare right now but I’m trying to wait it out and use what I have. This is forcing me to get creative with the food that I do have. For fresh produce, I am down to carrots, jalapeno and zucchini. I was trying to figure out how to use them up with tacos for dinner. Suddenly an idea struck me: carrot salsa… Is that a thing? You can make salsa out of a whole variety of produce so I went with it. This recipe is fresh and spicy. It would be good on chips but I served in on tacos.


Ingredients

  • 1 small zucchini, diced small
  • 2 medium carrots, diced small
  • 1 jalapeno, minced
  • 1 T olive oil
  • 1 T red wine vinegar
  • 1 t fresh lime juice
  • 1/4 t sugar
  • 1/4 t salt
  • 1/4 t fresh black pepper

Instructions

Toss together all of the ingredients in a medium bowl. Cover and chill 1 hour before serving.

