Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Living in Texas means that I eat a lot of tacos.  It isn’t just a stereotype, tacos are absolutely a food group in Texas.  I can recall days where I ate tacos for breakfast, lunch and dinner.  The other day, the words ‘chickpea asada’ popped into my head.  I don’t know whether it was divine intervention or my stomach but I became really excited about this idea.

I often make a crockpot of dried chickpeas on Sundays to have on hand all week.  You could also use canned chickpeas, of course.  I seasoned the chickpeas with classic asada flavors and topped it with my carrot salsa and crumbled queso fresco for a quick dinner.  To make this vegan, you could use a vegan cheese or leave the cheese off (it doesn’t really need cheese, this is plenty flavorful).


Ingredients

  • 1 can chickpeas, drained and rinsed
  • 1 T olive oil
  • 1/4 t pepper
  • Salt, to taste
  • 1/4 t garlic powder
  • 1/4 t cumin
  • 1/4 t chili powder
  • 1/8 t onion powder
  • 1 T lime juice
  • Corn tortillas
  • Salsa of your choice
  • Queso fresco (optional)

Instructions

  1. Heat the oil in a skillet over medium heat.  Add the chickpeas and toss so the oil coats the chickpeas.
  2. Season with the pepper, salt, garlic powder, cumin, chili powder and onion.  Stir to evenly distribute the spices.  Allow to cook for a minute, stirring occasionally.
  3. While the chickpeas are cooking, start to warm up your tortillas.
  4. Add the lime juice to the chickpeas, stir and continue to cook until the lime juice has evaporated.
  5. Put the flavored chickpeas onto the corn tortillas, top with salsa and cheese.
