Tags

, , , ,

My family loves when I make up a batch of these tasty battered potato treats.  We sometimes eat them before dinner, with dinner or as dinner.  The resulting snack is crispy on the outside and creamy on the inside.  They are especially delicious served with salsa or a chutney.  I served them tonight with one of my favorite new condiments: kasundi.

As soon as I heard about the Food & Wine Conference contest sponsored by the Idaho Potato Commission, I knew it was time to share this recipe with ya’ll. By the way, if you are interested in learning more about this contest you can check it out here.


INGREDIENTS

  • 2 large russet potatoes
  • 3 T lemon juice
  • 1 jalapeño, seeded
  • 4 cloves garlic
  •  2 C flour
  • 1 t salt
  • 2 t cumin
  • 1 t  coriander
  • Oil to pan fry

INSTRUCTIONS

  1. Thinly slice the potato (I used my food processor) and put in medium bowl.  Cover with water.  This will prevent the potatoes from browning and will remove some of the starch.
  2. Put the lemon juice, jalapeño and garlic in your food processor.  Process into a thin paste.
  3. Combine the remaining ingredients in a bowl.  Add the jalapeño mixture to the flour mixture and combine.
  4. Drain the potatoes but don’t dry them.  Coat the potatoes with the flour blend.  If the mixture is too dry, add water a little at a time so that it will coat the potatoes.
  5. In a large skillet, put a layer of oil and heat to 350.
  6. Place a layer of the potatoes in the pan and cook until they are golden brown.  Remove with a slotted spoon and drain on a paper towel.  I actually put my baking drying racks over paper towels and let them drain there.
  7. Devour immediately with your condiment of choice.
