Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

I’m definitely on the green smoothie bandwagon. When they initially gained popularity, I really wasn’t convinced that I would be okay drinking a salad. I finally tried it because of the nutritional benefit and found that I really like them! Most of the greens that I use have a mild flavor so they don’t overwhelm the delicious fruits. I often use spinach, kale or even romaine (great way to use up the romaine in our baskets!). The smoothies can help you add lots of valuable nutrients from greens into your diet.

As soon as I made this one as a snack for my daughter and myself, I knew that I needed to blog it. This smoothie gets a lot of sweetness from the mango and banana so it would be perfect for someone who isn’t sure about drinking green smoothies.

In this recipe, I recommend using frozen banana. I love keeping chopped bananas in the freezer for smoothies because it eliminates the need for ice and gives smoothies a creamy texture. They are also yummy snacks on their own!

image5-450x336

Ingredients

  • 1 chopped, frozen banana
  • 1 mango
  • 1 C greens (spinach, kale, romaine, chard, etc)
  • 3 T shredded, dried coconut (use fresh if you have it)
  • 6 oz coconut water (or water)

Instructions

  1. Pour the liquid in first then add your greens and your chunks of fruit go in last.
  2. Blend it up and enjoy!